Vehicle and Driver Requirements for Uber and Lyft in Texas

PUBLISHED ON: May 29, 2024

Ridesharing is a great way to earn extra money, make your own hours, and be your own boss. If you’re wondering what it takes to be an Uber or Lyft driver in Texas, explore the vehicle and driver requirements outlined below.

Uber/Lyft requirements in Texas

Driver Requirements

Uber and Lyft have similar driver requirements to ensure safety and reliability for passengers.

  • Drivers must be at least 21 years old.
  • Drivers must have a valid Texas driver’s license and at least one year of licensed driving experience. This increases to three years for drivers under age 23.
  • Drivers must pass a background check, meaning they have a clean driving record with no more than three moving violations in the past three years and no major violations or criminal convictions in the past seven years.

Vehicle Requirements

The vehicle requirements for Uber and Lyft in Texas ensure that cars are safe and comfortable for passengers.

  • The vehicle must be a 4-door car, truck, or minivan with at least five seat belts, including the driver.
  • The vehicle must be no more than 15 years old. This varies by city, so be sure to check with Uber or Lyft for local requirements.
  • The car must pass an annual inspection at a certified mechanic shop, have valid license plates and registration, and be free of cosmetic damage and commercial branding.
  • While no specific safety features are required by law, Uber and Lyft recommend working headlights, taillights, seat belts, and airbags, plus tires with sufficient tread depth.

Insurance Requirements

Both Uber and Lyft require drivers to have personal auto insurance that meets state minimums when not logged into the app. When logged in, both companies provide additional insurance coverage.

  • While waiting for a ride request, Uber and Lyft cover drivers with $50,000 per person for injuries, $100,000 total per accident, and $25,000 for property damage.
  • While transporting passengers, Uber and Lyft provide up to $1 million in liability insurance and up to $1 million in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

What if You’re in an Accident While Riding in an Uber or Lyft?

If you’re involved in an accident while ridesharing, rest assured that both Uber and Lyft provide excellent insurance coverage. If an accident occurs, the driver should report it immediately through the app, and everyone should seek medical attention if needed. Document the details from the scene and contact a personal injury attorney if you’ve been hurt. This legal professional can help you navigate the claims process and ensure you receive appropriate compensation.

Contact Nava Law Group

For help working through the details of an Uber or Lyft accident in Texas, reach out to Nava Law Group. Our well-regarded car accident attorneys have over 150 years of combined legal experience to protect your rights and fight for the compensation you deserve. Contact us at 713.661.9900 to schedule a free consultation at one of our personal injury law offices in Houston, Bellaire, Edinburg, or Austin, TX.

Schedule A Free Consultation