Houston Underage DUI Defense Lawyers
At the Nava Law Group, P.C., our Houston underage DUI attorneys know that it is illegal for anyone who is under the age of 21 to consume alcohol in Texas. In fact, The Lone Star State has enacted zero tolerance guidelines for drivers under 21.
That means any underage driver with even a detectable amount of alcohol in their system can be arrested, charged, and potentially convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUIA), whether they are drunk or not.
Additionally, minors who meet the DWI standard for intoxication can be convicted of both DWI and DUIA.
This arrest and the subsequent penalties are simply not going to go away on their own. Our underage DUI charges lawyers in Houston can help pursue the best outcome for your unique case, so this offense does not define your future.
Contact our underage DUI/DWI attorneys in Houston today to learn more about your legal rights and options to fight these charges, so you can get your life back.
Does a Minor Driver’s Age Affect DUI Charges and Consequences in Texas?
For the purpose of DUI laws in Texas, a minor is anyone who is under the age of 21.
Any amount of alcohol is enough for a DUIA by a Minor charge.
Even with a blood alcohol content of .02% blood, it is enough to trigger an over-the-limit arrest, leading to the minor’s vehicle being towed.
If the minor is under the age of 17, they could be charged with a Class C Misdemeanor.
The penalties for a first DUIA by a minor under the age of 17 offense may include:
- Fine of up to $500
- 20 to 40 hours of community service
- License suspension for 60-180 days
- An alcohol awareness course may also be required for the minor and the minor’s parent
A second offense carries the following penalties:
- Fine of up to $500
- Up to 60 hours of community service
- License suspension for 120 days to 2 years
- Attendance in an alcohol awareness course
If your minor is under the age of 17 and has been arrested for DUIA in Texas, you are going to need a Houston underage DUI attorney to help pursue the best outcome for your child’s case.
What are the Penalties for DUIA by a Minor Ages 17 to 20 in Texas?
A DUIA by a minor aged 17 to 20 in Texas is a Class B Misdemeanor.
The penalties for a first-time offense may include:
- Fines of up to $2,000
- Confinement in jail from 72 hours to 180 days
- One-year license suspension
When the driver is eligible for an ignition interlock device (IID), he or she may have their license suspension reduced to 90 days with the IID installed.
A second DUIA by a minor offense is a Class A Misdemeanor, and may include the following penalties:
- Fines of up to $4,000
- 30 days to one year in jail
- Suspended license for 180 days to 18 months
A third DUI by a minor offense is a felony DWI, and may include the following penalties:
- Fine of up to $10,000
- Imprisonment from two to ten years
- Suspended license for 180 days to two years
If you are a minor who has been arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol in Texas, contact our criminal defense attorneys in Houston today to learn more about how we can help you face these charges with confidence, so you can get your life back.
Our Criminal Defense Lawyers in Houston Also Focus on The Following Practice Areas:
Texas Minors Who Drive Under the Influential of Alcohol Face Ongoing Consequences
Minors have their whole lives ahead of them, including depending on their ages finishing high school or college, so they can enter adulthood with the prospects they have worked so hard to achieve.
Since minors can be arrested with even a hint of alcohol in their systems including as little as half a beer — their future can be in jeopardy even if they are not intoxicated.
A DUIA by a minor conviction can seriously jeopardize anyone’s future, including the revocation of scholarships or financial aid. And, if he or she is over 18, and convicted, the charge will appear on a criminal background check going forward, which can jeopardize their employment, housing, and financial opportunities going forward.
That is why it is so essential to hire experienced Houston underage DUI defense lawyers
to ensure your legal strategy is designed to achieve the best outcome available for your unique circumstances.
Contact Our Skilled Underage DUI/DWI Attorneys in Houston Today
If you are underage and were arrested for driving under the influence in Texas, you are going to need help ensuring this arrest does not negatively impact your future. Contact our experienced Houston Drunk Driving Lawyers at the Nava Law Group, P.C. today by calling (713) 218-2424 to discuss the details of your arrest, so we can help you take control of your case and pursue the best outcome.